NCESR selects recipients of summer internship

Back Row: Michael Nastasi (Director NCESR), Andrew Myers (intern), Ehsan Rezaei (Postdoc with Joseph Turner), Evan Updike (intern), Adam Liska (faculty advisor to Evan), Alan Dostal (NPPD), Nang Nguyen (NPPD). Front Row: Quynh Tran (intern), David Berkowiz (faculty advisor to Quynh), Matthew Penne (intern), Wei Qiao (faculty advisor to Matthew), Jerry Hudgins (Associate Director NCESR)

Four undergraduate students were selected as recipients of the Darrell J. Nelson Summer Undergraduate Internship in Energy Sciences Research for the summer of 2017.  The four recipients and their supervising faculty members are:  Quynh Tran (David Berkowitz, Department of Chemistry),  Matthew Penne (Wei Qiao, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering), Andrew Myers (Joseph Turner, Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering), and Evan Updike (Adam Liska, Department of Biological Systems Engineering).  The internship is named after Mr. Darrell J. Nelson, who served 41 years on the Custer County Public Power District and Nebraska Public Power (NPPD) Boards.  In 2005, Mr. Nelson proposed a partnership between NPPD and the University of Nebraska–Lincoln for engaging in energy sciences research.  The following year, the Nebraska Center for Energy Sciences Research (NCESR) was created with NPPD’s support.  At the end of the paid internship, each student will prepare a summary report that describes their experience and will prepare a poster to describe the accomplishments or results of their work experience in energy sciences research. Research posters were presented at the Nebraska Summer Research Symposium on Wednesday, August 9 in the Nebraska Union.